top of page

So here's to the last year...

Over my time as Events and Publicity Officer, we have held multiple successful events and really raised our profile on campus. Some of my personal highlights include the pub quiz... despite the mic failing, and there not being enough seats to accommodate everyone (not really a bad thing) I got to know my other committee members and the Network really well. We raised quite a bit of money for local charities, and was general a good'ol knees-up!

Intersectional Women's Week was also a huge highlight for me, along with our Guest Speaker Onni Gust, who delivered an inspiring lecture about the future of the Women's Campaign. The crafternoon produced some interesting content (see below)! The discussion group run by Zoe Jackson, our LGBT+ member was excellent and brought forward convincing topics surrounding intersectionality.

Let's smash the patriarchy!

Picture: This picture is of Wonderwomen eating doughnuts, with blue and green bunting in the background

Above all though, I have absolutely loved creating content and reaching out to my fellow network members. Not only have I personally become aware of the need for intersectionality and accessibility to feminism, but I was able to educate and teach others.

With elections immanent, I believe that joining the Network committee is genuinely one of the best things I have ever done at University. Not only joining with like-minded individuals, I was able to expand my horizons hugely, I have had the opportunity to attend the 3 day National Student Women's Conference and act as delegate representing my University. I have really enjoyed creating content, and I am now off to pursue a marketing career in the non-profit sector! So for anyone who is even remotely considering joining... do it. Honestly, best decision I made, and for the next Events and Publicity Officers I will be around to hold your hand the whole time.

If you have any questions feel free to tweet @UONSU_womens or Facebook message the private group for more details!

Beth xxx


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page